2007: Badja orphanage

Badja, a bush village located 40 km from the capital, where the Echange et Solidarité France Togo association has been working for ten years, was chosen for its location.

The Minister of Social Affairs and the Minister Delegate for Child Protection of Togo give the green light and assure the association of their cooperation in the selection of children who will be taken care of (victims of trafficking, children abandoned at birth , orphans of parents who have died of AIDS, street children, etc.).

In less than a week, a well is dug, the brush cleared and the foundations appear. The agglomerates made on site in a mold are assembled row after row. The reception of the first 12 children is planned for the beginning of 2008. For 3 to 6 months a French administrator will live on site to ensure the start-up of the establishment which should initially employ 8 people.

In the long term, 10 dormitories with 12 beds or 120 children over ten years are planned. On the financing side, pledges and funds to build the first phase were raised: Stalaven, General Council, pharmaceutical laboratories, Quessoy town hall, a painting company (Manche), Davy town school, sale of crafts, shows, donations individuals, etc.

Several sponsors are already committed to providing long-term care for a child up to € 40 per month; the tax deduction of 75% of donations, in reality reduces their contribution to 10 € per month.

The orphanage was built in Badja, a bush village (11,000 inhabitants) where the quality of life is the best (countryside), the follow-up is the most convenient (30 min from Lomé), the well-known stakeholders (nannies, cooks , seamstresses, guards, repeaters).

In addition, the proximity of the ESFT dispensary of Badja will allow the medical care of children and Siegfried VIDJRO, our representative, doctor, goes there twice a week minimum).

Finally, eggs and chickens, fruits and cereals will cost nothing, since they come from ESFT production). children.

 

The objective is to tear children from 1 to 5 years old from their unfavorable environment, give them the affection of an adoptive mother, feed them, house them, look after them and give them an education to make them independent.

A "nanny" for up to five children takes care of them on a regular basis during the day in the orphanage and throughout their growth. Three "nannies" for fifteen children, taking turns on the night watch.

 

The children are brought up in the orphanage, then entrusted to the nursery and to the local school in due time, so as to socialize them in contact with local schoolchildren. Teachers lead a study in the evening with support adapted to each person. A guard stays on site and ensures a night watch.

Health problems are entrusted to the Badja dispensary (ESFT) which resolves them or entrusts them to the Lomé CHU.

An administrator provides on-site logistics: food supply, management of linen, supplies, housekeeping and building maintenance and keeps the accounts up to date.

 

The ESFT representative in Lomé, Siegfried VIDJRO supervises the accounts and takes ordinary decisions by referring them to the President of ESFT (weekly report by Internet).

For operation,  motivated sponsors each take care of a child, for 40 € / month.

2007 : l'orphelinat de Badja

C’est Badja, village de brousse situé à 4O km de la capitale, où l’association Echange et Solidarité France Togo travaille depuis dix ans, qui a été choisi pour son implantation.

La ministre des affaires sociales et la ministre déléguée à la protection de l’enfance du Togo donnent leur feu vert et assurent l'association de leur coopération dans la sélection des enfants qui seront pris en charge (victimes de trafics, enfants abandonnés à la naissance, orphelins de parents morts du sida, enfants des rues …).

En moins d’une semaine, un puits est creusé, le terrain débroussaillé et les fondations apparaissent. Les agglos fabriqués sur place dans un moule sont montés rang après rang, L’accueil des 12 premiers enfants est prévu pour début 2008. Pendant 3 à 6 mois un administrateur français vivra sur place pour assurer la mise en route de l’établissement qui devrait employer 8 personnes dans un premier temps.

A terme, 10 dortoirs de 12 lits soit 120 enfants sur dix ans sont prévus. Côté financement, des promesses et des fonds pour construire la première tranche sont levés : Stalaven, Conseil Général, laboratoires pharmaceutiques, Mairie de Quessoy, une entreprise de peinture (Manche), école de la Ville Davy, vente d’artisanat, spectacles, dons de particuliers, etc.

Déjà plusieurs parrains s’engagent à prendre en charge chacun un enfant sur le long terme à hauteur de 40€ par mois ; la déduction fiscale de 75% des dons, ramène en réalité leur contribution à 10€ par mois.

L'orphelinat est construit à Badja, village de brousse ( 11 000 habitants ) où la qualité de vie est la meilleure (campagne), le suivi est le plus commode (30 min de Lomé), les intervenants connus de réputation (nounous, cuisinières, lingères, gardiens, répétiteurs).

De plus, la proximité du dispensaire ESFT de Badja permettra la prise en charge médicale des enfants et Siegfried VIDJRO, notre représentant, médecin, s’y rend 2 fois par semaine minimum).

Enfin, les oeufs et les poulets, les fruits et les céréales ne coûteront rien, puisque venant de la production ESFT).Pour finir, less liens de l'ESFT avec les écoles de Badja sont intenses et anciens, facilitant la prise en charge des enfants.

 

L'objectif est d'arracher des enfants de 1 à 5 ans à leur environnement défavorable, leur donner l’affection d’une maman d’adoption, les nourrir, les loger, les soigner et leur donner une éducation pour les rendre autonome.

Une " nounou " pour cinq enfants maximum s’occupe d’eux de façon attitrée au cours de la journée au sein de l’orphelinat et tout au long de leur croissance. Trois " nounous " pour quinze enfants, assurant les gardes de nuit à tour de rôle sur place.

 

Les enfants sont élevés à l’orphelinat, puis confiés à la crèche et à l’école du quartier en temps voulu, de façon à les socialiser au contact des écoliers des environs. Des répétiteurs animent une étude le soir avec un soutien adapté à chacun. Un gardien loge sur place et assure une veille de nuit.

Les problèmes de santé sont confiés au dispensaire de Badja ( ESFT) qui les résout ou les confie au CHU de Lomé.

Un administrateur assure sur place la logistique : approvisionnement en nourriture, gestion du linge, des fournitures, du ménage et de la maintenance des bâtiments et tient à jour la comptabilité.

 

Le représentant ESFT à Lomé, Siegfried VIDJRO supervise la comptabilité et prend les décisions ordinaires en en référant au Président de ESFT (rapport hebdomadaire par Internet).

Pour le fonctionnement,  des parrains motivés prennent en charge chacun un enfant, pou 40 € / mois.